with your feet in the air and your head on the ground

February 19, 2010


I don’t know how long I’ve been saying that I wanted to start back writing in this thing again.  So here I am…again.  1 semester of college down, 9 to go.  I have officially changed my major to Elementary Education/Special Education.  I’m 100% satisfied with my decision and think that it will be a rewarding job to have.
I’m almost done writing my story that I’ve been working on for almost 2 years (yeah, I know).  I think it’s actually going to end up being better than I expected.  Everyone that I’ve let read it keeps telling me that I should try to get it published eventually.  I guess I’ll see about that once it’s complete.  But just for a little synopsis:  If you’ve ever read The Little Prince or Jonathan Livingston Seagull, that’s the feel I’m going for.  I wanted to create a story that people of all age groups could read, understand, and enjoy.  For the younger readers, it would be an imaginary tale of talking trees and birds who form a friendship.  To older readers, it would be insight for their own life and tiny tidbits that we should all remember when times are tough.  The 2 characters are Oakley (the tree) and Skye (the bird).  They form a quite unusual friendship linked together by their “weaknesses” which actually become their strengths.

I’m so excited to finish it.  I still don’t know exactly what the outcome will be, but it will soon be discovered.

P.S. anyone–anyone out there who may stumble upon this, I urge you to listen to Jonsi’s song Boy Lilikoi.  It will change your life, I swear.

Au Revoir.

4 Responses to “with your feet in the air and your head on the ground”

  1. Darin Ax said

    I stumbled onto your blog and read a few post. I like your style of writing.

  2. ash said

    loved the song. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and I’ve followed a few of your suggestions for movies, music, and books. They’ve all been great! 🙂

    So I thought I’d suggest a movie to you…have you ever seen The Fall? Probably one of the most visually beautiful movies I’ve ever come across. I would definitely recommend it, if you get a chance.

  3. girlwithacoin said

    Aw, thank you so much!!!! I’m really glad you’ve enjoyed them thus far. After I read a book, see a movie, or hear a song that touches me, I really just want to share it with everyone in the world so they can experience it as well.

    I looked at the trailer for The Fall and it looks amazing! I’m going to have to rent it this weekend and watch it. Thanks for the suggestion!!

Leave a comment